The Battle of the Beers award was first introduced at the 32nd Durham Beer Festival in 2012. The award is judged by a panel of volunteers in a blind tasting. The recent winners are:

Year Winner Second Place Third Place
2017 New Direction (George Samuel) UK Pale Ale (Consett) XIV (Hill Island)
2016 Harvey (George Samuel) I Shall But Love (Sonnet 43) Time To Go (Just A Minute)
2015 Mannekin Wit IPA (Brewlab US/Canada) Star Spangled (George Samuel) Durham Wheat (Jam Brewery)
2014 Red Herring (Durham) Maple Rye (Tyne Bank) Ruby Tuesday (George Samuel)
2013 End 56 American IPA (Allendale) Up To 11 (Hill Island) Durham Magic (Durham)
2012 End 32 (Allendale) Flamebearer (Yard of Ale) -